Celebrating Greatness 

It was one of those days. Yeah, this was before I knew that I can choose not to have a “one of those days” day. So it was one of those days when I had messed up again and I was there wondering whether Romans 8:28 was just in my Bible or whether it was really true that, “there is no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus”. I wasn’t convinced yet. 
But the good thing was. I always new where to go. I always new who to go to: Deborah Mayuni. I can’t quite remember how our conversation went, but there was something which she said that just changed my understanding of Grace forever. She said, “José, the person messing up in the kingdom will always be better than the person who doesn’t mess up but is outside the kingdom”. That’s all I needed. 
Since that convo, I must admit my messing up has taken a nosedive. Understanding that there is nothing that I can do to make God angry, has helped me love God more. Knowing that God’s love for me isn’t hinged on what I do or don’t do, has changed my life. I thank God for Debbie. Today is her birthday so this blogpost is a celebration of her; an appreciation of pure greatness. 
One of the things that Debs said to me most of the time was, “you will turn out just fine”. And guess what? I did.  Sometimes it’s easier to believe in ourselves when we are surrounded by people who believe in us. People whose faith can propel us into the heights of our on faith.  
We all need mentors, teachers and life coaches: people to believe in us when we are “of little faith”. People to provide jumping cables when our faith is  running low on zeal. People to save us from drama and laugh with us when we pull some theatrical stunts. Thank God I have a lot of those people. You should too. 

#HappyBirthdayDebbie

#CerebratingGreatness 

#ItsDebsBirthday

#IamGladYouCame

#ICantKeepCalmItsDeborahsBirthday

Leave a comment