What is Success? 

I think an iPad would make a very good table mat. What do you think? Silly I know, but seriously though, I think it would. Let’s for a minute assume that there is some guy out there who uses his iPad as a table mat; his use of the iPad as a table mat, no matter how successful or convenient, doesn’t make an iPad a table mat.

Success at anything lies in finding out the purpose for which something was made and using it accordingly. If you use something for a purpose for which it was not intended, no matter how successful you are, you have failed. Purpose is the true measure of success.

 

Mark Twain said, “The most important days in your life are the day you were born and the day you find out why”. Success in life doesn’t lie merely in the greatness of one’s achievements. Success is achieving greatness in the context of one’s purpose for life. Success that is achieved outside one’s purpose is failure. For example, if you were purposed to be a basketball player and you are a singer, you have failed, regardless of how great you are as a singer.

Let’s go back to my iPad-mat joke. Imagine if the Apple executive was to find you conveniently placing a hot bowl of baked beans on the iPad air, how would he feel? How proud would he be for the work of his hand? Not so proud I assume. He wouldn’t be happy because you are misusing and abusing the iPad. 

For fear of failure people settle for success in areas that don’t matter. Failing really isn’t the greatest tragedy in life, succeeding at things that don’t matter is. Find your purpose in life and do your best to achieve​ it. Don’t settle for less when you were made for more.

Maybe I should share my iPad-mat idea withTim Cook and perhaps they may create an iMat. Lol! Jokes aside, don’t strive to get credit for what you arent accredited for. Find your purpose and live life big.

2 thoughts on “What is Success? 

  1. Purpose. This piece brought to mind something I heard from Dr Myles Munroe. He said “if you do not know why something was made you will abuse it and that includes your own life”. I must find my purpose and strive to fulfill it. Thank you Joseph. Why did I come? Am not living to eat. Lol. I shouldn’t be thinking of the next meal soon after the last one. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment